Thursday , June 13 2024

Group C World Cup 2022

Final results for Group C World Cup 2022. Three matchdays took place, with two teams securing Round of 16 places: Argentina and Poland.

The competition in Group C World Cup 2022 is pretty tough. Argentina lost to Saudi Arabia in the first match, but luckily they were able to come from behind in the second match to Mexico.

Group C World Cup 2022

Group C World Cup 2022 will feature Lionel Messi’s Argentina alongside Poland, Mexico and Saudi Arabia.

With all the attention going to his Albiceleste, this could be Messi’s last chance at a World Cup.

Argentina faces stiff competition from Poland, who are hoping to advance to the Round of 16 in Robert Lewandowski.

On Thursday (12 January 2022) his final two matches of the third round of Group C were played. It seemed difficult for Argentina to beat Poland with her 2-0. Mexico beat Saudi Arabia 2-1 to her, but remained in third place.

This concludes the Group C competition of the 2022 World Cup and Argentina are the winners of the group. Poland were also fortunate to reach the round of 16 of her 2022 World Cup, finishing on goal difference.

Group C World Cup 2022 standings

Group C World Cup 2022 matches

Group C World Cup 2022 teams


One of the World Cup’s traditional powerhouses, the 2022 tournament in Qatar could see a return to the old order of Argentina as a major force to be reckoned with, but it will also mark the last hurrah for one of the game’s greatest-ever players.

Argentina’s Qatar 2022 squad

Goalkeepers Franco Armani (River Plate) Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa) Geronimo Rulli (Villarreal)

Defenders Marcos Acuna (Sevilla) Juan Foyth (Villarreal) Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United) Nahuel Molina (Atletico Madrid) Gonzalo Montiel (Sevilla) Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica) German Pezzella (Real Betis) Nicolas Tagliafico (Lyon) Midfielders Rodrigo De Paul (Atletico Madrid) Enzo Fernandez (Benfica) Alejandro Gomez (Sevilla) Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton and Hove Albion) Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen) Leonardo Paredes (Juventus) Guido Rodriguez (Real Betis) Attackers Julian Alvarez (Manchester City) Thiago Almada (Atlanta United) Angel Di Maria (Juventus) Paulo Dybala (Roma) Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid) Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan) Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)

Saudi Arabia

In their last four involvements at the World Cup, Saudi Arabia’s exit has come in the group stages — and it is difficult to envisage that being bettered this time around in Qatar.

Herve Renard’s team deserve credit for finishing above Australia in qualifying, but there is a feeling that they could find matters much more difficult when faced with tougher tasks.

Saudi Arabia’s Qatar 2022 squad

Goalkeepers Muhammad Al Owais Mohammed Al Rubaie Nawaf Alaqidi

Defenders Sultan Al-Ghannam Abdulelah Al-Amri Ali Al-Bulaihi Abdullah Mado Saud Abdul Hamid Hassan Tumbukti Yasser Al Shahrani Muhammad Al-Buraik

Midfielders Abdullah Otaif Abdulelah Al Malki Riad Shrahili Ali Al Hassan Salman Al-Faraj Muhammad Kanoo Nasser Al Dawari Sami Al-Najei Hattan Bahbari Salem Al Dawsari Fahad Al-Muwallad Abdulrahman Al-Aboud

Attackers Haitham Asiri Firas Al-Buraikan Saleh Al Shehri


Mexico extended their streak of appearing at every World Cup finals since 1994 by securing CONCACAF qualification as runners-up to Canada on goal difference in the final round.

El Tri has a roster that relies on individuals who feature in Europe and North America. Of those, Wolves striker Raul Jimenez and Houston Dynamo veteran Hector Herrera will both be heavily called upon to propel the World Cup bid. The loss of Jesus ‘Tecatito’ Corona to injury is, though, a significant blow.

Mexico’s Qatar 2022 squad

Goalkeepers: Rodolfo Cota (Leon) Guillermo Ochoa (America) Alfredo Talavera (Juarez) Defenders: Kevin Alvarez (Pachuca) Nestor Araujo (America) Gerardo Arteaga (Genk) Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey) Hector Moreno (Monterrey) Cesar Montes (Monterrey) Jorge Sanchez (Ajax) Johan Vasquez (Cremonese) Midfielders: Edson Alvarez (Ajax) Roberto Alvarado (Guadalajara) Uriel Antuna (Cruz Azul) Luis Chavez (Pachuca) Andres Guardado (Real Betis) Erick Gutierrez (Eindhoven) Hector Herrera (Houston Dynamo) Orbelin Pineda (Atenas FC) Carlos Rodriguez (Cruz Azul) Luis Romo (Monterrey)

Attackers: Rogelio Funes Mori (Monterrey) Raul Jimenez (Wolverhampton Wanderers) Hirving Lozano (Napoli) Henry Martin (America) Alexis Vega (Guadalajara)


Poland’s Robert Lewandowski won the battle of the talismans against Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic to book the Eastern Europeans a spot in the finals via the playoff route, following a 2-0 win. Poland had previously been given a bye straight through to the final match after first-round opponents Russia were banned by FIFA as a result of their country’s invasion of Ukraine.

Poland’s Qatar 2022 squad

Goalkeepers Bartlomiej Drągowski (Spezia) Lukasz Skorupski (Bologna) Wojciech Szczesny (Juventus)

Defenders Jan Bednarek (Aston Villa) Bartosz Bereszynski (Sampdoria) Matty Cash (Aston Villa) Kamil Glik (Benevento) Robert Gumny (Augsburg) Artur Jedrzejczyk (Legia Warsaw) Jakub Kiwior (Spezia) Mateusz Wieteska (Clermont Foot) Nicola Zalewski (Roma) Midfielders Krystian Bielik (Birmingham City) Przemyslaw Frankowski (Lens) Kamil Grosicki (Pogon Stettin) Jakub Kaminski (Wolfsburg) Grzegorz Krychowiak (Al-Shabab) Michal Skoras (Lech Poznan) Damian Szymanski (AEK Athens) Sebastian Szymanski (Feyenoord) Piotr Zielinski (Napoli) Szymon Zurkowski (Fiorentina) Attackers Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona) Arkadiusz Milik (Juventus) Krzysztof Piatek (Salernitana) Karol Swiderski (Charlotte FC)